A Game a Day: Day 3

Day 3! I made a game from 9pm to 2am. I was completely drained from the first two days, so I feared that I wouldn’t be able to produce something interesting. In the end, I was happy with my project. So what did I make?

The game is called Mimicry.

Mimicry is a short 2D puzzle-platformer where the player controls two different colored characters (well, more like rectangles) simultaneously. The red character controls as expected in a platformer, but the blue character doesn’t. Since the blue rectangle is upside down with reversed gravity, the controls are inverted for it. Right is left, left is right, and jumping pushes you downward on the y-axis. The goal of the game is to touch each character’s respective goal block. Eventually, the levels get more complicated with the addition of obstacles. I only made 10 levels. However if players like it, then I’ll consider working on it more. This was a fun one to make and actually allowed me to get SOME sleep. ”

Total hours spent developing: 5 hours

Click here to play Mimicry and let me know what you think.

Leave a comment